[Coco] Re: -- Is this a scam?

Richard E. Crislip rcrislip at neo.rr.com
Sat Apr 17 22:26:18 EDT 2004

Hello KnudsenMJ at aol.com

> Yes, the potential scam email referred to USPS (an unfortunate choice of 
> abbreviation, should have kept good old USPO), not UPS.
> Interesting that the Post Office is catching on to such UPS innovations as
> online printing of mailing labels, tracking numbers (!) and the equivalent
> of postage. For anything but large packages, I still prefer my friendly
> local Post Office where the clerks advise you as to what to do. But yes, I
> have now shipped three large packages (vintage Ham Radio gear) via UPS,
> using their Web site with self-printing labels, complete with bar code.
> Maybe I really will visit that URL in my email. BTW, when I hover the
> mouse over the hypertext, it shows the legit address -- could a
> spam/scam/porn address still be hidden in that display, behind a
> non-printing char? Thanks for all the feedback -- Mike K.

Well for what it's worth, I've shipped scores of items I've sold on e-bay
via the USPS and prepaid the postage via their internet site. It always
went flawlessly. To weigh the parcels, I balanced the parcel on a peice of
four foot shelving and counter balanced with free weights for my barbell
set 8-). work great <grinning from ear to ear>. Besides, the USPS was far
less expensive than UPS or FedEx. After five pounds the UPS starts to be
more competitive.

Cruisen                                                    _|_
              on AutoPilot with an Amiga   ---o-( )-o---   and a CoCo

More information about the Coco mailing list